Home » Apple’s ‘Unleashed’ Mac event livestream: How to watch on Oct. 18

Apple’s ‘Unleashed’ Mac event livestream: How to watch on Oct. 18

Apple's 'Unleashed' Mac event livestream: How to watch on Oct. 18


Apple

Apple’s Macs are about to get an upgrade. On Oct. 18, the company is expected to announce its next generation of computers, powered by its rumored M1X Apple Silicon chips. The new devices follow last year’s M1-powered Macs, which were the first of Apple’s lineup not powered by a chip made by Intel. Instead, Apple is using ones similar to the chips that power the iPhone, and so far has been getting positive reviews for them too.

Apple’s new Mac computers already have well-regarded battery life, and are able to run iPhone and iPad apps. This new lot is expected to use Apple’s upgraded M1X chips, which are rumored to be faster and may go further to replace the “Pro” performance computers still currently powered by Intel chips.

Read more: Apple event set for Oct. 18, next-gen Apple Silicon Macs expected

All told, Apple’s event promises to be interesting. It’s the second big product unveiling that Apple has held this fall, and it’s online due to the ongoing pandemic


Now playing:
Watch this:

Comparing iPhone 13 Pro and 12 Pro Max cameras



7:40

While the Mac will be a key product at Apple’s event, and likely what most people focus their attention on, the company may have other devices to show off. Those include new entry-level AirPods, which are rumored to have designs similar to the AirPods Pro allowing users to change earplug tips. And in a long-shot possibility, a smart headset, which Apple still hasn’t publicly discussed.

When

Apple’s online-only event will be Monday at 10 a.m. PT, 1 p.m. ET, 6 p.m. GMT and Oct. 19 at 4 a.m. AEDT. (Sorry, Australia.)

Where

You’ll be able to stream Apple’s event straight from the company’s website. We’ll also be following along here at CNET, where you can get all the details as well as our expert analysis as the event is happening.

What we can expect

Apple’s digital events are fast-paced, but they’re also packed with info. And expect high production values. For the HomePod Mini announcement last year, Apple built a multifloor faux house. And last month, it brought on Oscar-winning director Kathryn Bigelow to dramatize the capabilities of the cameras on its iPhone 13 Pro.