NASA’s DART: How to Enjoy Live as a Spacecraft Crashes Into an Asteroid

NASA’s DART spacecraft is just not very long for this world — and it can be heading out with a major bang. Right after launching atop a SpaceX Falcon 9 on Nov. 24, 2021, the Double Asteroid Redirection Examination probe has its sights firmly locked on the asteroid Didymos and its very small companion rock, Dimorphos. On Monday, Sept. 26, DART will careen into Dimorphos at about 14,000 miles per hour. You can enjoy along dwell, and we’ve acquired all the facts right here. 

Initial, we ought to reiterate there is no have to have to be alarmed. This asteroid pair poses no menace to Earth. The mission is created as a test run for planetary protection with the intention of proving that a deep room collision can change the orbit of a area rock. The thoroughly arranged demise dive will wipe out the DART and, if all goes to program, alter the orbit of Dimorphos all-around its guardian Didymos at any time so marginally. 

In the latest weeks, the group from Johns Hopkins Used Physics Laboratory have been examining the asteroid pair from a distance, making positive we have a firm understanding of the asteroids’ orbits. As soon as DART has been ruined, ground-centered room telescopes will appraise Didymos and Dimorphos to see just how much the orbit has improved. 

The $308 million spacecraft’s lone instrument is the Didymos Reconnaissance and Asteroid Digital camera for Optical navigation (DRACO) and it will be switched on for final dive, taking a photograph every single 2nd. A further small satellite, which snuck out of DART on the way to its focus on, will also be looking at. 

About 3 minutes or so soon after the collision, the shoebox-size cube (regarded as the Mild Italian Cubesat for Imaging Asteroids) will just take higher-res photographs of the crash site and the hurt completed to the 525-foot asteroid. An additional mission, scheduled to start in 2024, will also rendezvous with Didymos sometime in 2026. 

But that’s for afterwards, for now, this is how you can see DART’s demise.

How to check out NASA’s DART protection

NASA’s DART death is primetime viewing on Monday, going on just a several several hours ahead of the big Monday Night time Soccer matchup amongst the New York Giants and the Dallas Cowboys. 

The spacecraft will collide with Dimorphos at 4:14 p.m. PT/7:14 p.m. ET on Monday, Sept. 26. Are living protection is scheduled to get started at 3 p.m. PT/6 p.m. ET by using NASA Television set

Our YouTube channel, CNET Highlights, will have two streams. The major livestream and a feed from the spacecraft’s DRACO camera. NASA notes that the feed will mainly be black once it switches on, but as the spacecraft ways, the asteroid pair will come into see. It must be very thrilling.

Here is how that time translates to distinct zones:

  • US: Sep. 26, 4:14 p.m. PT/7:14 p.m. ET
  • Brazil: Sep. 26 , 8:14 p.m. (Federal District)
  • United kingdom: Sep. 26, 11:14 p.m.
  • South Africa: Sep. 27, 1:14 a.m.
  • Russia: Sep. 27, 2:14 a.m. (Moscow)
  • United Arab Emirates: Sep. 27, 3:14 a.m. 
  • India: Sep. 27, 4:44 a.m.
  • China: Sep. 27, 7:14 a.m.
  • Japan: Sep. 27, 8:14 a.m.
  • Australia: Sep. 27, 9:14 a.m. AEST

Sounds awesome. Wherever can I discover out much more about DART?

We’re happy you requested.

When DART released back in November 2021, CNET’s Monisha Ravisetti put jointly this helpful explainer about the mission and its ambitions. The team at Johns Hopkins Utilized Physics Laboratory also has a ton of means about the mission, together with helpful interactives and the most up-to-date updates. 

Make guaranteed to look at again in this article for the livestream back links closer to launch and test out CNET Science for much more area tales.